Latest project….

I’ve been working on these art dolls for awhile…and I’m ready to take pics and get them posted on my Etsy shop:

Now, I have difficulty getting good pictures of my crafts. No matter what I try, or how many different lighting effects or how many shots I take, I’m never happy with the results. I just end up taking close-up shots with a blank white background.

So I thought I’d try something different with these dolls in an attempt to capture the feeling I want to convey: they are the Deadutantes (a play on debutantes, of course) and they are dressed up for the ball, laughter, and dancing. All dolled up, so to speak.  I want to show a fanciful combination of gothic and baroque influence.  These pics just didn’t do it for me, so I’m going to have to try again.

Perhaps I can “antique” the pics on the computer and use one or two, along with white background shots.

I need to show the “cuteness” factor too, which is more bright and cheery.

I’d love any feedback on these dolls and the pics from above! 🙂

About Melanie's Menagerie

I am an avid crafter and love searching yard sales and resale shops for vintage and retro items. Recently married, I live in the mountains with my husband, but I am an original Jersey Girl. I love the beach (only two hours away!) and enjoy exploring New York City. (only an hour away!) I love to travel and have been lucky enough to visit many great places including Ireland, Bermuda, Jamaica, and most recently Rome! I enjoy hiking and mountain biking. I am hoping to promote my shop on Etsy called "Melanie's Menagerie" so please check it out and let me know what you think! www.melaniesmenagerie.etsy.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Latest project….

  1. I love these! Creepy but sweet at the same time.

  2. dawnrogal says:

    I LOVE these! I love the setting that you have put them in. Since Etsy lets you put in a few photos I think the setting plus some close-ups should work. And be sure to be specific in your description about materials and size because that is a bit hard to discern. Do you have a “color pop” editing feature you can use? I have one that I use now and then and it can work wonders on a photo (it’s part of Windows Live Writer).

    and btw, thanks for following along on my blog! I’ve been blogging for over 5 years now and I love it.

  3. Thanks! I did take some close-ups and listed two of them yesterday on Etsy…I did download Windows Live Writer so I’m gonna check out the color pop feature (THANKS for that tip!)

  4. Julie says:

    Geez Melanie,
    I think these pictures are great. I do see the advantage of the white bgackground showing all the details and being able to really get a good look at the items. I just LOVE the setting you have them in though, it is so funny, I really think you should use both, the settings to catch people’s eye maybe and then a closeup with the white background for details. you are allowed several pics so take advantage of them. I think they are just hysterical. I love them. You are doing such a good job. I’ll go look at the other page again, I’m trying to decide which I like better.
    Julie

  5. Thank you Julie! Your feedback means so much 🙂

Leave a Reply

