I think I’m FINALLY getting there!

I’m always trying to find just the right BLUEBIRD FACE. I’ve needle felted quite a few of these birdies, as they seem to be the most popular item in my Etsy store.

Like I posted in my last entry, I try different things in the

“Search For The Perfect Expression.”

Different head shapes, different eyes, different eye-to-head ratio…always in search of what would satisfy my inner muse.

Anyway….

I finally got my paws on a Re-Ment box from the “Fairy Tale Tableware” collection that contained a tiny bluebird, much like the Lefton Bluebirds that I aspire to recreate (with my own flair, of course. Don’t want to FLAT OUT copy!)

For those unfamiliar with RE-MENT, it’s a great source of miniature stuff. I really can’t accurately describe what Re-Ment is without going off on a “tangent,” so you should check them out if you are curious: http://www.re-ment.co.jp/

(Oh, and don’t bother going to Chinatown in NYC and looking for any Re-Ment like I did…it’s a JAPANESE company. Woopsie!)

So this is the bird I received when I got the Re-Ment box from Ebay:

Are you still with me? I’m almost done!

So this teeny tiny birdie got me

excited and I put aside my other

projects momentarily to try a crack

at it once again. I needle felted a

bird late last night and was just

getting giddier and happier with

each poke!

Here is THE FACE!

 

I LIKE IT!

(My hubby says it looks chubby.)

Now, I understand others may not even see any difference, and that’s okay. I don’t expect anyone to understand what I’m babbling about anyway! But I was excited, and thought I would share it on the Ol’ Blog. Perhaps other crafters, artists, BoneSmiths, and Creatives that also struggle with their own nit-picky-ness may come upon this and know

THEY ARE NOT ALONE.

About Melanie's Menagerie

I am an avid crafter and love searching yard sales and resale shops for vintage and retro items. Recently married, I live in the mountains with my husband, but I am an original Jersey Girl. I love the beach (only two hours away!) and enjoy exploring New York City. (only an hour away!) I love to travel and have been lucky enough to visit many great places including Ireland, Bermuda, Jamaica, and most recently Rome! I enjoy hiking and mountain biking. I am hoping to promote my shop on Etsy called "Melanie's Menagerie" so please check it out and let me know what you think! www.melaniesmenagerie.etsy.com
This entry was posted in Needle Felted Creations and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I think I’m FINALLY getting there!

  1. lawhimsy says:

    That’s awesome ~ The face is so similar to the vintage ones (and it’s also beyond darling!)! I so know how you feel when it comes to getting something “just so”. Here’s to nit-picky-ness and it’s totally worth it results!

Leave a Reply

