Photomatic! You learn something new everyday!

I’m an avid flea market hunter. I’m not talking about the serious person who’s trying to find that valuable treasure they can turn around and make a big profit on. No. I’m simply a hunter of cool stuff. Cute stuff. Things that just stick out to me and appeal to either my inner child or the love I have of all things vintage.
Also, I’m a flea market digger. Yes, that person digging through the junk boxes that are on the ground or under the table. So I do occasionally come upon what I think is pretty neat. This item was one of those finds.

IMG_0085

When I first saw this item, I thought it was cool because it seemed to be sturdy and thick, and I noticed it had a tin frame. I had never seen one of these type of photos before. And the soldier’s eyes seemed to look right at ME. I wonder, is he woeful, or just being a stoic soldier?

So I looked online and found that it’s a photobooth picture from the late 1930’s to 1940’s, and this is more than likely a soldier during World War 2.IMG_0087

Printed on back:
Date:
Place Taken:
Taken by the Photomatic
Reg. US Pat. Off. Pat No 1665605
MADE IN U.S.A.
INTERNATIONAL MUTOSCOPE
Reel Co. Inc. New York City

 

 

IMG_0086IMG_0089

About Melanie's Menagerie

I am an avid crafter and love searching yard sales and resale shops for vintage and retro items. Recently married, I live in the mountains with my husband, but I am an original Jersey Girl. I love the beach (only two hours away!) and enjoy exploring New York City. (only an hour away!) I love to travel and have been lucky enough to visit many great places including Ireland, Bermuda, Jamaica, and most recently Rome! I enjoy hiking and mountain biking. I am hoping to promote my shop on Etsy called "Melanie's Menagerie" so please check it out and let me know what you think! www.melaniesmenagerie.etsy.com
This entry was posted in Flea Market/Garage Sale Finds and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

