Disney’s Orange Bird

I had a customer request a felted version of Disney’s Orange Bird, and I admit I had to Google it. Being a pretty avid fan of Disney’s world of animals, I was surprised that one had managed to escape my notice. But here was Orange Bird, a creation by Disney for the Florida Citrus Commission back in 1970. Since I was born in 1971 and am not nor have ever been a resident of Florida, I see why it escaped my attention.
orange_bird th-3 th

So as you can see, the head is actually a round orange and the wings are leaves. Below are the results of my felting….it has a wire armature in the body as well as the leaves.

orange-bird-disney disney-orange-bird disney-orange-bird-3 disney-orange-bird-2 disney-orange-bird-1

About Melanie's Menagerie

I am an avid crafter and love searching yard sales and resale shops for vintage and retro items. Recently married, I live in the mountains with my husband, but I am an original Jersey Girl. I love the beach (only two hours away!) and enjoy exploring New York City. (only an hour away!) I love to travel and have been lucky enough to visit many great places including Ireland, Bermuda, Jamaica, and most recently Rome! I enjoy hiking and mountain biking. I am hoping to promote my shop on Etsy called "Melanie's Menagerie" so please check it out and let me know what you think! www.melaniesmenagerie.etsy.com
This entry was posted in Needle Felted Creations, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

